"ACTIVITIES AT BLAIR"



Montgomery Blair High School's Student Handbook

Dr. William F. Brennan Principal Mr. Myron B. Michaelson Sponsor

Published by

The Student Government of Montgomery Blair High School Wayne Avenue and Dale Drive Silver Spring, Maryland 20907 Though I could not find a date, this handbook may be from the 66-67 school year, Dr. Brennan's first as principal. He'd previously been principal of Eastern Jr. High.

## A HISTORY OF MONTGOMERY BLAIR HIGH SCHOOL

Over a quarter of a century ago, the Takoma Park-Silver Spring area began to feel the need for a new high school. The community was expanding rapidly, and the junior-senior high was overcrowded.

Plans were drawn up for the construction of a new school, to be located on the hill overlooking Sligo Creek Parkway. This spot was chosen for its central location, its natural beauty, and its size, which allowed room for expansion through the years.

The main unit, "C" building, was started early in 1934, and its doors were opened to students for the first time in March of 1935. The girls' gym was soon after constructed. It served as a boys' and girls' gym and an auditorium until 1954 when the current boys' gym was completed. The commercial building ("B") was in use by the fall of 1940. Construction on the Memorial Stadium was begun in 1947, and the official dedication was in 1949. That same year, "D" building, housing the industrial arts department, first came into existence. In 1952, "A" building, containing the library, attendance wing, school store, Student Government and Silverlogue offices, and classrooms, was completed. The newest unit, "E" building, was opened for classes in the fall of 1960.

The school was named in honor of Montgomery Blair, a longtime resident of Montgomery County and Postmaster General under Abraham Lincoln. This name was chosen by the student body in 1935.

## History of Montgomery Blair High School

The first high school is suburban Montgomery County was located at Philadelphia Avenue and known as Takoma-Silver Spring High School. Opening in September, 1925, the school enrolled 86 pupils in the ninth through eleventh grades. The first faculty consisted of five teachers, including Mr. Evalene Beebe, the principal. On March 19,

1926, the school was officially dedicated. In 1928, the Board of Education decided to establish a junior high school in connection with the Takoma-Silver Spring High School. Mr. Robert Brinker was appointed principal of the new junior-senior high, but he was succeeded the following year by Mr. Edgar Merritt Douglass.

As the community grew, it was no longer advisable to have a combination junior-senior high school. A new senior high was begun on a tract of land "miles from anywhere," and it was scheduled for occupancy in September of 1934. The senior high school, however, was not used until March, 1935, and several teachers commuted between the junior and senior high schools. The students brought their seal, ring school song, color (red and white), and traditions to the new school. The students submitted three names to the Board of Education, and the name Montgomery Blair was selected to honor a man who was prominent in the community, who had served as a member of Lincoln's cabinet, and who was called "The Father of the Parcel Post System." The Blair House, used as temporary residence of President Truman, was once the home of Montgomery Blair.

There seemed to be adequate facilities for the entire school population for a few years. During World War II, many families moved into the Washington area, and after the war, they began to move to the suburbs in great numbers. In 1946, Mr. Daryl W. Shaw was appointed principal to succeed Mr. Douglass, and the enrollment was 714. Within five years, the enrollment was 1,323. Mr. Richard E. Wagner succeeded Mr. Shaw in 1962. Dr. Ivan W. Fitzwater became principal in 1965 and a year later was succeeded by Dr. William F. Brennan. Dr. P.J. Emma became principal of Blair in February of 1970.

Mr. Joseph Villani was principal from 1980 to 1984. Mr. Phillip F. Gainous was principal from 1984 to 2007. Mr. Darryl L. Williams took the reins from 2007-2011. Mrs. Renay C. Johnson is the current principal.