header 1
header 2
header 3

Carl J. Sawicki

Profile Updated: May 3, 2020
Class Year:
Musical Instrument Specialist
Military Service:
Martial Status:






What did you want to do or think you were going to do when you finished high school:

Something related to music.

Still have family around Dearborn Heights:


Which Classmates are you still in touch with:


What are your favorite memories of high school:


Favorite Teacher(s):

Mr Remington

What street(s) did you live on in the Heights:


My Siblings:


What other schools did you attend in Dearborn Heights:


Biggest thing you would do differently if you went back to your time at CHS:


What are your worst memories of high school:

Spanish Class

Favorite Song(s) from back in the day:


First concert you attended and location:

Detroit Symphony at Ford Auditorium


After Crestwood I went to Henry Ford CC for two years. Then was accepted to Juilliard and Manhattan School of Music in NYC. After a short time in NYC my Wayne county draft board screwed up and I ended up in the Navy (Band) for four years. After discharge I was planning to continue my undergrad studies at Juilliard and then do my masters at Yale ... but, my teacher was killed and there was no one in NYC that I wanted to study with. So, I started my own musical instrument repair business, and within two years I was world famous (no joke). Spent many years (off and on) working in Scandinavia and traveling to Paris. I have lectured at Juilliard, Yale, Univ. of MI, Univ. of OK, plus schools in Oslo, Stockholm, and Copenhagen. Moved to upstate NY in 1980 and married the love of my life, Sara (an oboist) in 1984. The two of us have written/published two books and one poster about the oboe (it was smart to marry someone that was in the top ten of her graduating class, can spell and knows grammar). We both took up ultra cycling in the late 80's and in 1989 I did a fundraiser- 'solo' bike ride (150 mi. per day, avg.) for Hospice...San Francisco to Atlantic City in 21 days...Sara was my only crew. Later the same year we both did a cross-country 'fast ride' (also 150 mi. per day, avg.) with a group...San Diego to Jacksonville, FL in 21 days (Sara was one of only two women riding). Finally got tired of the NY cold weather (and the taxes) and moved to Austin, TX (to ride more), then Fredericksburg, TX (to ride even more), then Alpine, TX ...each time trying to find better roads to ride on and reduce the business clientele. No luck with clientele reduction. Now, I am in my 46th business year and have finally reduced the clientele to about two. Live mostly in Alpine in a canyon on 14 ac. with a real Indian cave (with pictographs), still have the Fredericksburg house and another piece of property near McDonald Observatory (where we both volunteer at star parties). I am very much involved with astronomy, Sara with microscopes and biology. My astronomy 'hobby' has lead me to astronomical spectroscopy and I collect data for specialized databases in Germany and the Paris observatory (data are used by professional astronomers). I am co-author of six (so far) scientific papers that are published in prestigious journal 'Astronomy and Astrophysics'.

And to think... I left Crestwood with a 2.002 grade point average.

Carl J.'s Latest Interactions

Hide Comments
Carl J. Sawicki updated his profile. View.
May 03, 2020 at 3:25 PM
Carl J. Sawicki added a comment on his Profile.
Jul 25, 2017 at 1:44 PM
Carl J. Sawicki added a photo to his profile gallery.
Mar 17, 2015 at 1:17 PM
Hide Comments
Posted: Mar 17, 2015 at 1:17 PM