Freedom Scholarship

Contrbute to the

Class of 1965 Freedom Scholarship:

Criteria Update in 2018

One $1,000 Scholarship will be awarded to a graduating senior, preferably in the top 25% of the class who has been accepted into a 2 or 4 year college and who shows promise in the areas of English, History or Journalism.  This student may otherwise be overlooked.

The scholarship was established in 1992 and 54 BHS Graduating Seniors have benifited from our generosity.


Please consider a yearly contribution to help fund this worthy scholarship. 

Freedom Scholarship checks should be made out to "BHS Class of 65".

Mail to:

BHS Class of 1965 Freedom Scholarship

c/o Steve Hawley

50 Main Street

Batavia, NY 14020


Contributions are not tax deductible.

Anniversary of our graduation: 27th - 39th  year - $250 each

1992   Carrie B. Abrams       James E. Canham        1993  Tracy L. Boyce            Thomas R. Knipe

1994   Sarah W. Gilmartin     Timothy D. Knisley       1995   Jamee J. Foster         Joshua W Walker

1996   Sada M Geuss           Scott D. Masters           1997   Kristen A Lerminiaux  Bradley R. White

1998   Sarah B. Franco         Calvin J. Platten, Jr.     1999   Caryn L. Burk             Kevin D. Fryling   

2000   Lisa Mortellaro            Anthony Fortunato       2001  Jeffery K. Birge            Jennifer M. Krolczyk

2002   Elizabeth Varland        Angus Abrams             2003   Brandon R. Schlia       Melissa M. West

2004   Natalie Stone              Brian P. Strollo   

                                                               40th - 52nd year  - $500 each   

2005   S. Cooper Hawley   Kristie L. DuRei               2006   Molly Huber         Daniel Simmons

2007   Peter Lamb             Jessica Okoniewski         2008   Ariel Love             Elliott Marino

2009   Sweta Kolisetti        Christopher D. Ziemba    2010   Madison Musilli    Timothy M. Redband

2011   Jared T Raphael      Kaitlyn E. Walker            2012   Greg Musilli           Megan M. Smith   

2013   Daphne R. Paine     Mark J. Zinni                   2014   Haley W. Case      James V. Fazio

2015   Abigail F. Frongetta  Samir Jain                      2016   Dharina D. Rathod  Nicholas A. Piedmont

                                                  53rd - 54th year after graduation - $1000.00 each

2018   Lauren Leone  - Lauren has been a member of Mock Trial for 4 years, President of her class for 2 years, President of National Honor Society and a 3 season Scholar Athlete in Varsity Tennis.  She has been awarded a Presidential Scholatship at Ithaca College where she will be a double major in journalism and politics.              

2019   Abigail Swinehart - Abby has been a star on the BHS Varsity Gymnastics Team.  She is a member of the Link Crew that helps incoming freshmen and teaches VBS at First Presbyterian Church.  She will enter GCC as a sophomore, having taken Advanced College Classes at BHS. She will major in Education and plans to go on to SUNY Geneseo or Brockport.

2020  Charles Burton - High Praise from BHS School Counselor Greg Ciszak: "He's really a remarkable young man who's written several novels himself and is currently writing another one.  (They read) like it was written by a professional" .Charlie wil be attending SUNY Oswego for creative writing.




Click to go up